In one month, I will be 30 in just one year

Creating my "Before I Turn 29 List" on August 21st, 2008

Creating my "Before I Turn 29 List" on August 21st, 2008

So here it is. Checking “publish the blog” off my list. Not “The List”, just my list of things to do today.

A friend recently asked me if “The List” was like a “to do” list, like the kind you create on a Tuesday for things to do on a Wednesday, blah, blah, blah. The answer is a definite “no”.

I started creating “The List” a few years ago when I was about 22. It was my birthday.  I can’t quite remember why I started writing out the things I wanted to accomplish before I turned 23, but I did, and it stuck.  Not one year has gone by without making one. It’s been my chance to reinvent myself year after year. I love it.

Now I’m turning 29 and my lists have evolved into somewhat of a self reinvention contract. Whether it’s something simplistic like growing my hair long or more complex like creating a  charity event, it goes on the list, because once it’s on there I know it will get done.

This year will be my BIGGEST list because it’s the last one I will make before I turn 30. For many of my friends ’30’ is a milestone. For me that’s still TBD. But I know it will be a significant year because I’m leaving my twenties behind, embarking on a new decade filled with a new set of social expectations, opportunities, and sagging bits. The truth hurts, but I’m due to shake things up a little anyway. Bring it. Twenty-something is going out with a bang. Now that is on my list.

1 Comment

Filed under Before I Turn 30 List

One response to “In one month, I will be 30 in just one year

  1. Pingback: Blog anonymity. Overrated? « reinventing sandyb

Leave a Reply

