Signs are for windows… and comment boxes

Have you ever wanted – begged – for a sign?

The other day I treated myself to a little something that I posted about here. I fell in love with nothing special, really – just a sign in a window that spelled out exactly what I’d been thinking lately – “I LOVE YOU BLOGS.. AND COFFEE”

It was exactly what I needed.

The sign wasn’t cheap, but worth every penny, especially because the lady who sold it to me asked me an important question that I think was high time I answered: “So, what’s your blog about?”

And that was a million dollar question.

It’s written in black and white on my “About SandyB” page, so I know I’ve thought this out at least once before. And hell knows I talk about the effing blog to my sister and husband daily. They even have an ‘oh shit, are we talking about the blog again’ look.. but they always pull through with good advice, editing skills and sometimes they’re the ones who inspire these posts. I’m a lucky B.

But I didn’t start this blog to post at 6:00 a.m. and drink coffee, like I’m doing now.

Lately this blog has been enjoying readers. I didn’t ever think it would. When I started, I figured it would hit at least one person’s screen, and that was enough for me. If just one other reader, blogger, stalker stuck with me for the whole year until I finished my List, it was worth it. Not because my year-long project is for anyone else, but because I really do think the world is a stage, and sometimes we need someone other than ourselves to finish the performance for. Even if it’s just for an audience of one.

And the next thing I’m going to write might strike a chord (or ten) with some of you:

When you blog, who do you do it for?

It’s not a bad thing to do it for the entertainment of others. It’s not bad to want to connect with people who read you as you see yourself. And it’s not even bad if all you want is a place to park your thoughts – the stuff you can’t say at the office, in your house or while you’re buying signs about blogs and coffee. As long as you know why you blog, as long as you have a reason, then it’s worth it every time.

And since this is so obviously not the kind of post where I swear excessively, make fun of my life or put on my wedding dress, I guess it would be a good time to tell you that I was hoping my blog would be more than just about my List. I just wasn’t sure what I wanted that something to be.

And then, in my comment box, I got another sign from someone who’s Not That Kind of Girl.

“I take it you’ve also been working on the longer-term ones — like, the ones that aren’t a one-shot that you can cross off right away? It would be cool at some point to read a status update of how you’re changing for the better, or if anything hasn’t been as worthwhile as you hoped.”

Since I first hit publish not so long ago, there is one thing I’ve learned that I know will stick with me for a long time, maybe even forever..

I’d rather meaningfully reach one person than casually stir a million. And I’m over the moon today if that one person is you.

“I believe that one defines oneself by reinvention. To not be like your parents. To not be like your friends. To be yourself. To cut yourself out of stone.”

-Henry Rollins

8 Comments

Filed under Reinvention Inspiration, this is where shit gets deep

8 responses to “Signs are for windows… and comment boxes

  1. I still haven’t worked out what my blog is about. Plus if I tell people I think they’re less, rather than more, likely to go off and read it. Working out what your blog is about is a bit like working out what you want to do when you grow up – the less cut and dried it is, the more likely you are to be interesting to somebody.

  2. She

    I blog for two second reasons. A place to park my thoughts, observations, and reflections. And two, hopefully connect and make friends with some people I otherwise wouldn’t find offline.

    I’ve been blogging on and off for seven years. And one of the things I’ve found that works best is if I blog for me first, and hopefully people who understand and/or can relate will come along with that.

    And, I’m definitely in agreement with your last sentence.

  3. I blog partly as a form of cathartic healing and partly to share with others. However my main reason is memory. My long-term memory has already started to fade and as I’ve never kept a written diary, this means many moments from my childhood and teens have been lost to me forever. By keeping a blog, hopefully I will have something to look back on in later years.

  4. Sandy C

    “We need a witness to our lives. There’s a billion people on the planet, what does any one life really mean? …You’re saying ‘Your life will not go unnoticed because I will notice it. Your life will not go unwitnessed because I will be your witness’.”
    – Shall We Dance (yes, I’m quoting a dance movie. But hey, this is pretty profound!)

  5. It’s funny that you wrote about this because I’ve been having some real similar thoughts. I feel like I started blogging for one reason and had a direction…and, it keeps changing. Also, the audience I hope to be writing for has changed. I’ve not even been blogging long at all.

    I guess when you boil it down…everyone blogs to share. It’s about sharing our experience.

    I can honestly say I’ve enjoyed reading about you and your experiences. And, I’ve learned along the way.

  6. Pingback: reinventing sandyb

Leave a Reply

