You plan. God laughs.

I’m not a religious person. I even once bartered the baptism of my unborn child for the recovery of lost luggage. I had good shit in those bags worth saving. No regrets.

But this post isn’t about religion. It’s about how God has a way of fucking up your plans sometimes.

***

I planned to be a millionaire.

I planned to know what to do with my life.

I planned to have children by now.

I planned to have met, made out with, and dumped at least one celebrity. Potentially two.

I planned to been famous. Or at least recognized in the grocery store because my face is on the cover of a trashy tabloid. Dreamy.

I planned a lot of things that just didn’t work out the way I planned.

Should I be disappointed? Pissed? Discouraged? Probably.

****

It has absolutely occurred to me that my List is a plan of sorts. A way of creating a path to the things that are important to me. It has absolutely occurred to me that my plan could fail. But I happened to know that there is something more powerful, more intense, more gravitational, more deluxe, and more stupendous than a plan…

[to be continued. just because.]

Turkey bacon n' eggs. Just because.

Turkey bacon n' eggs. Just because.

5 Comments

Filed under Reinvention Inspiration, Stuff I know for sure

5 responses to “You plan. God laughs.

  1. Love the post…I too planned to be a millionnaire by now and I hoped I would know what I was doing with my life but I don’t! Oh well enjoy the journey hehe :o)

  2. The funny thing that happens is that the deviation from our plan usually ends up being greater than what we actually planned for ourselves. At least, that is what I want to believe. Things work out. They will and they do.

    But really? A “to be continued?” Totally not fair.

  3. Wow…this is so me. I planned to be and have done a LOT of things by now. I’ve done some of them, sure, but the *big* ones that I’ve not yet accomplished….well, they are always lingering in the back of my mind.

    I still have hopes of making out and dumping at least one celebrity, though.

  4. Pingback: You plan. God laughs. Part II. « reinventing sandyb

  5. Ummm …I’ve decided I will be famous.

    One day.

Leave a Reply

