If you think I hate kids, you’re totally off-side. I actually think they’re cute. Sometimes.

The other day, I was doing #15 on my List and thought it would be a good idea to spread the love. Here goes:

While in line at one of my favorite neighborhood bakeries, there was a plethora of gingerbread cookies laid out for sale. Now let me tell you that I love all things gingerbread, cinnamon, ginergy, spicy, and especially things that taste like gingerbread-cinnamon-gingery-spice. Drool.

There was a little girl – quite cute, actually, with long brown, curly hair and big blues eyes – waiting behind me to buy bread. Her mom stood outside.

Then a young family – mom with three kids – walked in to stand in line, too.

The gingerbread-cinnamon-gingery-spice cookies were on everyone’s mind. Pleas and begs came from all the young girls to their mothers to just have the effing cookies… “PLEASE!”.

Now I’m sure you know where this is going, but wait. Hear me out. Most people in my circles think I don’t like kids, hate them in fact, which actually isn’t true. Do I think kids can be obnoxious? Smelly? Loud? Attention mongers? Sure, guilty as charged. But this is exactly why I thought it would be a good-out-of-my-ordinary thing to buy all four girls in the bakery those cookies.

And I did.

Normally I just buy overpriced coffee for adults with their own bank accounts who really don’t need to be drinking any more caffeine anyway.  I needed to branch out.

I didn’t want to be heard, so I whispered the plan to the cashier, paid for my items (cookies included) and walked out. Smiling.

As I walked down Roncesvalles Ave., I knew that a few stores away there were four little girls being told, “That lady who just left bought you all cookies…” (And then I thought, hey, she better have said “lady” and not “woman” because, what the hell Lady at the Bakery, I’m only 29. And then I was walking down Roncesvalles with a dirty look, all mean-eyes, but then Rob was like, “what the hell is your problem?” and I snapped out of it pretty quick because, well, I doubt the Lady at the Bakery even knows who I am or my age. And she was actually quite nice.)

Anyway.

The thing about doing #15 on my List is that it’s a real win-win for everyone involved: The independent bakery who scored (albeit small but nonetheless) a few extra sales; the girls who got their “PLEASE MOM!” cookies; and moi, who is on a mission to reinvent her usual life and habits and thoughts.

The odd thing is that I’m sharing it here and, well, I feel like a bit of a big face doing so – “Look at me… I’m SO generous..” Not true. I really don’t think that at all. I thought it was more important to spread it by blogging, hoping that you will do #15, then blog about it, too.

So, the real point to the story is, you should always spoil the dinner of neighborhood children with cookies.

So, you have a moment when a stranger did this for you or you did this for a stranger?

4 Comments

Filed under #15 Give away some awesome, Reinvention Inspiration

4 responses to “If you think I hate kids, you’re totally off-side. I actually think they’re cute. Sometimes.

  1. flatbrokegirl

    I had one of those moments when I went to the store and thought, “Oh, I just need a few things here and there. I don’t need a buggy.” Well, I ended up getting enough stuff to where one would have been VERY useful.

    I thought I could just get in line and be out of there. Wrong. There was about one lane open and the line was full of people buying the entire store and requiring manager assistance every time. My arms were ready to break, but I didn’t want to lose my place in line!

    This lady in front of me had a buggy, and saw I was clearly uncomfortable. She offered me space in her buggy until we could both get through the line. It has been a few years, but I’ll never forget that one little random act of kindness from a stranger.

    • Grocery store lines should come complete with therapists at the checkout. They cause more stress than traffic jams and PMS combined. Combined!!

      Thanks for sharing this experience – hope you spread the love.

  2. This summer I was studying abroad in Cairo. I met this guy at the school. He was from Germany and we exchanged maybe a few words. A couple days later I was at the convenient store about to pay for my sprite and he came out of no where, paid for it, and walked okay. I was so surprised!

    I always wanted to do something like that too but I never did…I think I might this week!

    Thanks for posting 🙂

    • Feel awesome, huh? You should absolutely give it a shot. At the risk of sounding cheesy (parm, anyone?) I figure it like this: Someone does it for you, you do it for someone else, they do it for another… etc etc. Picture that spreading all around your neighborhood. Then your city. Then…

      Who knows, right?

Leave a Reply

