Yesterday I took the long way home just because it seemed more interesting. I got lost. It was awesome.

So, it turns out reinventing myself isn’t as easy as it looks. Or seems. Or I thought it would be. Not that I take the easy road or anything, or even have a map for it. And not that I’d use it if I did.  I mean, where’s the fun in life if you can’t start up a blog about turning 30, decide you’re going to check everything off your List, start checking things off, get all introspective and analytical and shit, cry on the bathroom floor, decide you’re being an idiot, snap out of it, and then write it all down?

Admit it, you totally get me.

Is it worth so far? Absofuckinglutely.


Having a List has done some good things:

1. Others have started to reinvent. I’ve had people tell me that after stopping by the blog they’re also starting a List, which I think is fantastic. Once in a while, I come up with a nugget. Apparently the List is one of them. That’s solid.

2. I eat something green everyday. It’s good for me. On days I don’t eat my greens I feel like garbage: My energy is low, my mood is hit or miss and I’m pretty sure other people’s children bother me more than usual. If you’re thinking about making a List, I’d highly recommend spinach make it on there.

3. I’ve said exactly what’s on my mind. Since I turned 29, I told a friend she broke my heart; I told my landlord the people who live below us make me want to vomit; I told a guy who thinks I’m high maintenance that he just really thinks I’m out of his league; and I told my sister what I really think about the situation she’s in right now.

4. On my travels last month, I hung out at a nude beach (and I mean that literally). It was fantastic.

This might not sound like a lot, but these are all things I wasn’t doing this time last year. And that, my friends, is progress.

But something’s still missing.

I read recently that Maya Angelou once said, “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

Before you start thinking, ‘Oh God’s she’s one of those assholes who goes around quoting people all the time…’ I don’t. But sometimes other people just know how to sum it up better than I do.

And with that, I have added #15:

Everyday, especially on my worst ones, I will do something for someone other than myself. I will remind my friends why I chose to love them; I will buy coffee for the person behind me at Starbucks; I will give my time and expect nothing in return; I will call my mom for no reason other than just because I know it makes her day; I will personally compliment the chef and not just tell the waiter; I will tell the girl at the checkout that her hair is totally bitchin; I will trade a criticism for a compliment; I will ask about your day, instead of telling you about mine.

Everyday, I will give away some awesome.

13 Comments

Filed under #15 Give away some awesome

13 responses to “Yesterday I took the long way home just because it seemed more interesting. I got lost. It was awesome.

  1. Wow. I just found your blog. It is so great. This post is so wonderful. I love the way you write and youre great attitude. I think it’s awesome!

    • WOW back at you. Thanks so much for reading the post and for your sweet commentary there.
      p.s. you’d totally love my mom.. she thinks I’m awesome too.

  2. I think this is possibly the best thing on your list!

  3. I just found your blog, and I love it so far!

    I’ve been thinking a lot about creating a similar list

  4. leadbanana

    I have a book you’re going to love. Actually, thanks to some PR person, I have several copies. It’s called “29 days of giving” and is totally all about this. Remind me on Monday.

  5. Sandra Mateus

    Awesome Sandy….keep it coming. You know..I love when people write down what I think…cause I surely don’t have time for it. xo Sandra

  6. Yes, this one is awesome. It is hard to do so great to write down, I think I should write it down because I get busy, stressed and forget that I was planning to make someone elses day a little better, which is totally self absorbed and anti your #15.

  7. i love #15. i want to start a list and i think it will be my #1.

Leave a comment